Achmelvich

Other

Seeing as I have very little time at the moment to do anything creative (not even to ‘think creatively about my career’ as my Dad aptly put it…the woes of working life…) I figured it would be nice to share photos about other things that I have been up to.  After all, photographs are creative in their own way, even if only snaps and not ‘Fine Art’ photographs.  In fact, most of the ‘Fine Art’ I have produced over the past…actually probably ever…have been based upon such photographs.  And having called them snaps, it is my constant endeavor to progress as a photographer, teaching myself new skills bit by bit, so that maybe one day I could be considered technically good at it.  If anyone would like to volunteer to give me a masterclass, please shout up!

As you will recall, the weekend before last (though it seems much longer ago) Chris and I sauntered off to the Northwest coast for a weekend with my family.  Here is what we got up to!

Image

We were there for a good time, not for a long time…

Image

The weather was pretty awful for the first couple of days, so we spent a lot of time reading and playing lovely old games like Solitaire.

Image

Image

Image

But the wind ran out of puff and the weather calmed down, so we were able to go for after dinner walks on the beach and catch a sunset.

Image

This is our boat, “Hornet”.  She’s an absolute beauty.

Image

Image

Image

Image

My Dad began his annual lecture on the geology of Northwest Scotland…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Achmelvich sunsets are the most heavenly thing on earth.  Waterskiing at sunset though…if only!  No waterskiing for us this year.  Later that evening there was an infamous Achmelvich beach bonfire, though I left my camera at the tent for fear of it getting broken (I only took my big camera with my big lens with me…).

Image

Me, mum and Chris went foraging for chanterelles in the silver birch woods that practically cover the whole of the valley leading down to Achmelvich from the main road.  The only thing more heavenly than Achmelvich sunsets are freshly picked chanterelles.  I like mine fried in garlic and butter, but they make an incredible risotto, and mum once made a tasty sherry-cream pasta dish with them.  If I could eat them everyday for the whole of summer I would be truly content.

Image

Image

Because of an interview that never happened, Chris had to leave a day earlier than me, so I took him down to Ullapool  to catch the bus.  On the way we stopped at Ardvreck Castle by the side of Loch Assynt, because Chris has never been.

Image

Image

Image

I had sand in my shoes, as per usual.

Image

When I got back we went for a campsite dinner at the Caberfeidh in Lochinver.

Image

This is my Mum and Dad!

Image

Image

Image

Et Voila!  I set off early the next morning because we had to be back in work.  A short but sweet weekend!

What do you think?

