Debra, Harriette, Lisa and Madeline

Degree Show

On Sunday it dawned upon me that the degree show would be over, so I grabbed my camera and headed down my corridor to grab some snaps of a couple of people’s work before it all got taken down.  I didn’t catch everyone, but here is what I did get:

Image

Image

Debra (Debs) Thompson created an installation of plaster boxes.  Of her work, she simply states “but the box is unable to hold them in….”  Simple and elegant, her cubic sculptures have an instant aesthetic appeal and my first reaction when I saw them a few weeks ago was a yearn to touch them.

Image

Image

Harriette Yarrington (RSA:NC) creates intricate sculptures of animals and their bones out of fabric.   So convincing are they that a zoologist was fooled into thinking they are real!  As was I, until you look extremely closely.

Image

Lovely Lisa (who bought one of my prints!) makes very large scale paintings.  I didn’t realise for a while that they are infact 3D, with huge globs and layers of paint protruding out from the canvas.  This, combined with beautiful, expressive painting certainly brings a realness to lightImage

Madeline McKay’s (RSA:NC) beautiful bird etchings make me wish I had made them myself.  We have both worked extensively in the printmaking workshops this year and it was always lovely to see her work come to life.  Madeline has won lots of awards for her work, and rightly so.

Image

Image

Image

I wish I had had time to capture everyone’s work.  You can have a look here though: http://www.dundee.ac.uk/djcad/degreeshow/studentsexhibiting/

Links:

Debs: http://www.dundee.ac.uk/djcad/degreeshow/studentsexhibiting/fineart/debrathompson/

Harriette: http://www.dundee.ac.uk/djcad/degreeshow/studentsexhibiting/fineart/harrietteyarrington/

Lisa: http://www.dundee.ac.uk/djcad/degreeshow/studentsexhibiting/fineart/lisascrimgeour/

Madeline: http://www.dundee.ac.uk/djcad/degreeshow/studentsexhibiting/fineart/madelinemackay/

After the show closed on Sunday we went back to mine and sunbathed and had dinner in the garden!  Finally a chance to enjoy the last of the sunshine.

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Happy dining al fresco!

What do you think?

